Ladders Film/TV Course

LAdderslogo

Ladders: Film/TV/Animation Course

Designed for those with little experience of film/TV or animation, this 8-week course will provide hands-on training in professional digital media industries under the guidance of industry tutors, guest speakers and masterclasses.  Practical workshops and training exercises will provide a well-balanced introduction to the technical craft of filmmaking and the art of visual storytelling.

Storytelling for screen is no longer restricted to big budget cinema releases and television series commissioned by major networks. The need for quality content across digital media delivery platforms such as subscription TV, mobile devices, internet, promotional campaigns and film festivals is leading to lucrative opportunities for multi-skilled professionals to generate highly creative, captivating productions. This 8-week course will allow you to explore a wide range of career options within the film, television and digital media industries.

Weeks: Dates: Times: Summary:
Week one

 

6th Feb (Mon) 4-5pm
5-7pm
Introduction to Creative Courses (Course Overview)
Introduction to Treatments/Pitching
  9th Feb (Thurs) 4-7pm Introduction to Premiere. Creating moving storyboards (Animatics)
Week two 13th Feb (Mon) 4-7pm Skills Development Session in Sound…
  15th Feb (Wed) 4-7pm Skills Development Session in Camera Work
Week three 20th Feb (Mon) 9-12.30pm Company Visits (Film/TV)
  25th Feb (Sat) 10-4pm Skills Development Session in After Effects
  27th Feb (Mon) 4-7pm Skills Development in VFX
Week four 6th March (Mon) 4-7pm Skills Development
  8th March (Wed) 9.30am – 12.30pm Company Visits –-  Including BBC Studio Tour
Week five 9th March (Thurs) 4.30pm -7pm Introduction to Project Briefs. (All Courses)
  11th March(Sat) 10 – 4pm Project Advice & Guidance Session. Pitching treatment idea for chosen brief
Week six 13th March (Mon) 4-7pm Project Development Session.
Week seven 20th March (Mon) 4-7pm Project Development Session
Week eight 23rd March (Thurs) 4-7pm Project Development Session
25th March (Sat) 10-4pm Project Development Session
  30th March (Thurs) 4pm-7pm Project Completion (Showcase)


*All venues are based in Newcastle City Centre.
** Please Note: depending on beneficiaries some dates/times are subject to change.
Venues include:

campusnorth (1)

 

NEWCASTLE-library-logo-300x156

Loft Music Studios Logo

 

 

 

Interested in our September course?

logo-strip-1